Accidentally-Vegan Food and Ingredients

It's easier to go vegan than you think!

Over the years I’ve referred to things that are “accidentally vegan.” These are commercially-produced foods that weren’t created with the intention of being vegan (aka, free of animal products), but as luck would have it, they are. That’s when it’s time to kick up your heels and do a happy dance. Not at the same time though.

Here’s a list of some of my favorite accidentally-vegan foods and ingredients. Just so you know, sometimes your favorite accidentally-vegan products will change their list of ingredients. It’s never a bad idea to look from time-to-time to make sure they haven’t snuck in some dairy here and there.

Also, just because these are accidentally vegan, doesn’t make them necessarily healthy. Be sure to read the labels and use these in moderation and in balance with lots of veggies and fruits! Salad anyone?

  • Life Cereal is a listed as an Accidentally Vegan Product on the Namely Marly site
    Life Cereal

    Please note that several of Quaker products are vegan, including their oatmeal and other types of cereal such as the puffed rice cereal and more.

  • The Namely Marly Dairy-Free Chocolate Chip Guide includes Guittard Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
    Guittard Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips

    For other vegan chocolate chips, check out the Namely Marly Dairy-free Chocolate Chip Guide!

  • Ghirardelli Double Chocolate Brownie Mix is listed as an Accidentally Vegan product on Namely Marly
    Ghirardelli Double Chocolate Baking Mix
  • chick-o-sticks-candy-bars
    Chick-O Sticks

    I love using Chick-O Sticks as a replacement for Butterfingers Candy in my recipes. I’ve had trouble finding them lately, but I can usually purchase them at The Dollar Store…for a great price! For example, I used them in my Vegan Butterfingers Birthday Cake!

  • Nabisco Oreo Cones are listed as an Accidentally Vegan Product on Namely Marly
    Nabisco Oreo Chocolate Cones

    Use these in combination with your favorite vegan ice cream!

  • Airheads are listed as an accidentally vegan product on Namely Marly
    Airheads Candy

    Anyone ready to go see a movie?

  • Cracker Jack Popcorn is listed as an accidentally vegan product on Namely Marly
    Cracker Jack Original
  • Fritos are listed as an accidentally vegan product on Namely Marly
    Fritos Original

    I used Fritos in my Vegan Taco Cornbread Casserole.

  • Lays Classic Potato Chips are listed as accidentally vegan food on Namely Marly
    Lays Classic Chips
  • Ritz Crackers are listed as accidentally vegan food on Namely Marly
    Ritz Crackers Original
  • Wheat Thins Original are listed as accidentally vegan food on Namely Marly
    Wheat Thins Original
  • Hershey's Chocolate Syrup is listed as accidentally vegan food on Namely Marly
    Hershey’s Syrup
  • Oreida Tater Tots are listed as accidentally vegan food on Namely Marly
    Oreida Tater Tots
  • Oreos are listed as accidentally vegan food on Namely Marly
    Oreos

    We provide several recipes that use Oreos, including this Vegan Oreo Cheesecake and these Oreo Stuffed Vegan Brownies. Please note that I’ve received comments from readers that Oreos in the U.S. are vegan, however, some varieties in Europe may not be.

  • Jello Cooke & Serve Puddings are listed as accidentally vegan food on Namely Marly
    Jello Cook and Serve Vanilla Pudding and Pie Filling

    I had no idea that Jell-O Pudding was dairy-free! And, in fact, the Instant variety is not, only the Cook & Serve. Add your favorite plant-based milk and you’ve got a nice, easy vegan pudding!

  • Some Duncan Hines Cake Mixes are listed as accidentally vegan food on Namely Marly
    Duncan Hines Cake Mix

    Some Duncan Hines Cake Mixes are accidentally vegan, such as the classic yellow cake mix. The trick is making that cake mix without eggs in a way that tastes good. I’ve got a few examples for you, such as these Vegan Cake Mix Cupcakes or this Vegan Cake Mix Brownies.

  • Duncan Hines Creamy Homestyle Frosting is listed as an accidentally vegan food on Namely Marly
    Duncan Hines Creamy Homestyle Frosting
  • Smuckers Marshmallow Topping is listed as an accidentally vegan food on Namely Marly
    Smuckers Marshmallow Topping

    This is great on top of vegan ice cream!

  • Bac-Os Bits are listed as an accidentally vegan food on Namely Marly
    Bac-Os Bacon Flavor Bits

    We serve these over salads or on baked potatoes with some of our vegan cheese sauce!

  • Grands Jr Golden Homestyle Biscuits are listed as an accidentally vegan food on Namely Marly
    Pillsbury Grands Jr. Golden Homestyle Buttermilk Biscuits
  • Pillsbury Crescent Rolls are listed as an accidentally vegan food on Namely Marly
    Pillsbury Crescent Rolls
  • Strawberry Unfrosted Poptarts are listed as an accidentally vegan food on Namely Marly
    Strawberry Unfrosted Pop-Tarts

    Kellogg’s Unfrosted Pop-Tarts are accidentally vegan, but not the ones with the frosting. For some reason they add gelatin to the frosting. Gelatin is made from animal hooves. I have one word for that gross!

  • Pepperidge Farms Puff Pastry is listed as an accidentally vegan food on Namely Marly
    Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry Sheets
  • Nutter Butter cookies are listed as an accidentally vegan food on Namely Marly
    Nutter Butter Cookies

    This is a new addition to the list. Either Nutter Butters changed their recipe or I just missed this on the ingredients list, but these are now vegan!

  • Nabisco Graham Crackers are listed as an accidentally vegan food on Namely Marly
    Nabisco Graham Crackers

    A lot of graham crackers are made with honey. We don’t have a problem eating honey (it’s a natural product and bee keepers do a great job caring for their bees). However, some vegans won’t eat honey. If you’re looking for a graham cracker made without honey, these are great! I use graham crackers to make pie crusts, for example this Vegan Banana Cream Pie or even these Vegan Magic Bars!


  • Chocolate Chip Teddy Grahams are listed as an accidentally vegan food on Namely Marly
    Chocolatey Chip Teddy Grahams

    We love the Teddy Grahams. Not only are they adorable, they’re accidentally vegan too! I used these in one of our favorite recipes, Vegan Chocolate Chip Teddy Graham Chocolate Chip Cookies. We had a lot of responses from folks not realizing the these are vegan. Note: Only the Chocolate Chip Teddy Grahams are vegan.

  • Sara Lee Cherry Pies are listed as an accidentally vegan food on Namely Marly
    Sarah Lee Frozen Pie

Do you have any favorite accidentally vegan foods or ingredients? Use the contact form to send me a note and maybe I’ll add it to my list too! 🙂

Accidentally Vegan Food and Ingredients by Namely Marly